Books

Vertigo

Author
Widholm, Annika
Swedish title
Yrsel
Category
Fiction \ Mystery & Thrillers
Pub Date
Jul 24, 2018

VERTIGO — an atmospheric psychological suspense debut centring on the boundaries of consciousness, a locked room and a missing ex-wife.

Clara has just moved in with her partner Markus when she starts experiencing bouts of faints and blacking out. She regains conciusness in unexpected places without knowing how she got there, while experiencing an uncanny feeling of being followed.

Her desperation grows as she tries to find out who is potentially spying on her and what is causing her black outs. Could it have anything to do with the tragic accident that befell the family the previous year?

Questions haunt her at night. How is Clara supposed to befriend Markus’ teenage daughters who still mourn their mother? And what lies hidden in the locked room, belonging to Markus’ mysteriously absent ex-wife, she’s never been allowed to enter? And what did really happen to Markus’ ex-wife?

Annika Widholm’s adult fiction debut is the perfect marriage between domestic noir and psychological suspense with elements of dark women’s fiction. Perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and bestselling Scandinavian author Karin Fossum.